top of page

Food for Thought: Community


Romans 8:31-39

“What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

Is fear just a misunderstanding? Is fear a real thing or is it just based on assumptions from passed experience. Did it exist before sin or is it only a product of sin? This year I made a goal to overcome all my fears. First thought I didn't want an enemy to have anything to use against me. What a stupid mindset this was maybe I just watch too much TV. It's such a big task to undergo; however hard is not impossible and it's only as hard as you make it. On second thought why should I let any fear keep me from carrying out a plan he has for me? Was I allowing this to occur? There are plenty of fears people have, but don't we really just fear ourselves? When overcoming something when I try to fight it I find myself making up excuses. At church last Sunday the pastor pointed out that often when we find excuses come easy is when God wants us to do something and just trust Him. When we step out of our comfort zone we become very vulnerable and the first thing that seems to be in check is our pride. Sweating blood before death on the cross, Christ may have been scared, but he was not reluctant to carry out God's will. I know we are not all perfect and set out to achieve something great and there is not really anyone like Bat Man, but in the movie the first thing he is told to do in his training is exactly that, rid himself of all his fears. In fact he gives himself a name from which he most fears. Then again what it really comes down to, is mind over matter. Through this not only do I begin to find greater freedom with the Lord, but greater peace with myself as well.

Too often do I struggle with the fear of making a mistake, but how will we know unless we try. For the longest time I hated doing anything in front of anyone: singing, public speaking sometimes even just speaking up in class or group projects scared me as if I would say something wrong. There was a point where I wasn't even comfortable singing in front of my friends one on one or even singing in a mere; as if as if they or someone would judge me. Slowly, but surely I grew out of it as I began to see how crazy it was. I began to see that not only is stage fright along with many other fears too often based on lack of good experience and coaching, but also based on a lack of knowledge or understanding. Thus said it is good to face our fears, but before doing so prepare yourself. With a goal to snap out of my lazy habits this year I have been pushing myself to reach higher goals and aim for living up to my fullest potential. This being said I have learned two things: It’s all about preparation and approach. How you approach something or someone has a lot to do with the outcome or response you will get out of something or someone. In relation to fear and stage fright get to know yourself more or the problem before you attack it and in the end who knows you may even be intrigued by it and end up liking the fear instead of being afraid of it.

I would love to hear some of your thoughts or opinions on this subject. Please feel free to leave you comments and questions or any other suggestions on topics you would like me to blog about!! I am open to any suggestions and compliments as well as constructive criticism.

~Thanks


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page