top of page

Food for Thought: Fear or Misunderstanding?


Romans 8:31-39“What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?" Is fear just a misunderstanding? Is fear a real thing or is it just based on assumptions? Did it exist before sin or is it only a product of sin? Sometime in college I strived to overcome all my fears. First thought I didn't want an enemy to have anything to use against me. The more I thought it through I realized how big a task it was to undergo; however, hard is not impossible. On second thought why should I let any fear keep me from carrying out a plan he has for me? Was I allowing this to occur? When overcoming something I find myself making up excuses. In college a pastor once pointed out that often when we find excuses come easy is when God wants us to do something and just trust Him. When we step out of our comfort zone, we become very vulnerable and the first thing that seems to be in check is our pride. The question than remains are we willing to humble ourselves and rely on God or doubt ourselves? Where will doubt take us? Fear is just a lie. Most often we fear what we do not know or assume. Whether based on assumption or bad experience it is not what we go through, but instead how we respond. It is our response that determines who we trust (ourselves or God). Take Christ for example: Too often do we discuss the God part of Christ, but rarely do we discuss his manhood. For he was fully man and fully God. Sweating blood before death on the cross, Christ may have been scared, but he was not reluctant to carry out God's will. He was scared too, but instead of letting that stop him he turned to God and asked for help. If Christian means little Christ or Christ follower we should follow Christ's example. I know no one is perfect or set out to achieve something great and there is not really anyone like Bat Man, but in the movie the first thing he is told to do in his training is exactly that, rid himself of all his fears. Now I am not suggesting that. For that is not for everyone; however, let us not let our fears get in the way of our calling. Please feel free to leave you comments and questions or any other suggestions on topics you would like me to blog about!! I am open to any suggestions and compliments as well as constructive criticism. ~Thanks

To see more click on the following or go to the blog link under the About me Section at the bottom of page: http://foodforthoughtdevo.blogspot.com/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page